Alarm Clocks

I hate alarm clocks.  It’s not that they wake me up, it’s the sound they make.  That NA NA NA NA sound just curls my skin.  That and I have a crush on the snooze button. 🙂  I’m so glad that I do not have a job that requires me to be up every day at a certain time, thus, I don’t have to set an alarm clock.   But wait!  I do have an alarm clock!  I have three to be exact.  Buddy, Happy, and Baby.

They are like most small children.  They rise with the sun.  Buddy usually wakes when the first sun beam streams through his window.  Most days he will play in his room until I get up. If daddy is home, Buddy will go down stairs to find him.  Happy, who is still in a crib, may wake up when ever.  He tends to throw whatever is in his crib out at that point.  Pillow, blankets, stuffed animal, and most important, his pacifier.  But as soon as Buddy makes a noise, he is yelling to get out of bed.  And heaven forbid Buddy needs to go to the bathroom.  Then it becomes a full on scream until he comes back.

And as most small children do, they have no idea about time.  When we need to be somewhere in the morning, they all almost sleep in too late.  When it is a day that would be perfect for sleeping in, they are awake at 6.  Our days don’t usually start until 7 so for me 6 is too early.  This morning was one of those mornings.  It was rainy so the sun was not really out and it was Saturday.  I had gotten up several times in the night with the baby so I did not get a lot of quality sleep.  I was hoping that because of the rain and lack of sunshine I could have slept in a little, like until 7:30.  But alas, the boys had another idea.  They all collaborated and decided to wake up at 5:30.  5:30!!!  Buddy went to the bathroom which caused Happy to scream.  Thankfully, daddy had just gotten out of bed when all this happened so I didn’t have to get out of bed.  Or so I thought. Right about that time, Baby decided to wake up so I had to take care of him.  Now, Baby is back to sleep, and Buddy and Happy are in their beds, but not asleep.  So I steal some “sleep” and roll out of bet at 7:30 when Baby wakes up again hungry.

So you see, I have no need for an alarm clock.  I have the best alarm clocks God ever made.

Spill the Beans

