New Year, New Goals

Happy New Year everyone!! I hope y’all had a blessed Christmas! We had a flurry of activity during the holiday season. Children’s choir for church, two school Christmas plays, Sunday School parties, adult choir at church, three Christmases, and then the new year. (We don’t do anything for new year since the majority of our children are 4 and under.) During all this, we also had a yucky little tummy bug roll through the house and I was trying to sew stuff, on top of being stressed about some non-sewing things. Oh! And Doll Face decided, the week of Christmas, that she no longer wanted to be in diapers. So it was potty training boot camp, too. Talk about crazy!! I had a mini meltdown Christmas eve night. It was not pretty, but I felt much, much better.

School has been back in session for a week and it feels good to be back in our normal routine. There are always so many things that I want to get done on the days that everyone is at school, I hardly know where to start! But I managed to make a small bin for some of the boys toys and I have finally started on a dress for one of my nieces for Christmas. (Yeah, a little late. I know.) I don’t believe in new year’s resolutions, because I know I won’t keep them. So instead, I’m going to make some small, doable goals for myself. And if I don’t get to some of them, then that’s ok. I’m not going to stress about it.

I need to put away a ton (and it probably is a ton) of clothes, rearrange the rooms, paint one of the rooms (eventually), do a mini upgrade to the upstairs bathroom, clean all the windows down stairs (inside and out), paint miles of trim, sew, and sew for myself. I also want to do a few sewing swaps.  I’ve already joined a valentines swap, so I’ve been scouring Pinterest for ideas. I think I know what I’m going to make. I can’t wait to get started!

That’s not a comprehensive list, but it’s a start. And we all have to start somewhere.

Until next time, Mister E says stay cool!

Stay Cool

Mama Bear

Spill the Beans

