“Swap”ing Things Around

This year I want to expand my sewing abilities.  Most all of the sewing I have done has been beginner-intermediate level, and none of it, with the exception of two pieces ever, have had any appliques. I made this quilt several years ago that has appliqued elephants around the outside. It was this experience that made me not want to try it again for many years.

Elephant Walk Quilt

Then I made this jumper for Doll Face. This was all free-hand and did not have any stabilizing base so it slipped around and puckered in places. It’s not a very clean looking job, but it was cute anyway.

Little Birdy Jumper

Earlier this month I signed up to do a Valentine’s swap. This is where you are given a persons name, and you are to make something small-ish to send it to them. Since this is a Valentine’s swap, the recipient does not know from whom they will be receiving their little gift. Some of the things people been posting on the swaps FB page are beautiful! I can’t wait to see what is sent to me. I search Pinterest for some inspiration and found this little mug rug and knew I had plenty of scraps in my stash to take a stab at it.

Love Birds Rug Mug

This is going to give me some practice at not only applique, but micro applique and free motion quilting.  I have never in my life tried to do this. I love the look it gives quilts and, like I said before, I want to expand my skills. Plus, with the small size of the mug rug, I shouldn’t have too much difficulty learning this new skill. I’ve gotten started on the applique and have been playing with the different decorative stitches on my machine. So far I am happy with the results, but I ran out of red thread and I need to get to the store for more. I’m also making a mug cozy to match. Until then, I need to make some curtains for my husbands office. (They will be done this week! I promise!!!)

Hugs!

Mama Bear

Spill the Beans

